Ball of foot pain and swelling

Stopping Gout Together Forums Help My Gout! The Gout Forum Ball of foot pain and swelling

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Steve Bateson 4 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

Dave
    Participant
    Ŧallars: Ŧ 0.45
    GoutPal Carer Badge Rank: Carer

Been controlling my gout daily with 300 mg allopurinol, cherry complex and uric acid support supplements along with major diet changes. I’ve been monitoring my UA weekly with a monitor for the past four months and I’m averaging 3.9 mg/dl.

All has been going well until a few days ago when the ball of my right foot has all the signs and symptoms of a acute gout attack. With my UA levels controlled and low, I’m thinking this may be the crystals breaking down from the metatarsal joints.

Right now I’m treating with prednisone to relieve the inflammation, OTC pain control and increasing my H2O intake.

This may be totally unrelated to UA and something along the lines of metatarsalsia which I’ll have to get a consult from a podiatrist.

My inquire is to see if anyone else has experienced this same condition and what if any the findings were. Additionally I’m wanting to reduce the dosage of the allopurinol and at some point not take it anymore. This begs the question: how does one know when this is?

Thank you.

David

nobody
    Participant
    Ŧallars: Ŧ 470.84
    GoutPal Scholar Badge Rank: Scholar

Hi!
    You should definitely not quit allopurinol while you are experiencing this type of symptom, unless you’ve been able to rule out gout as a cause. It often takes more than 4 months to get rid of crystals and you want to get rid of all your crystals before attempting to live without allo.