Uric Acid level of 10.0

Stopping Gout Together Forums Help My Gout! The Gout Forum Uric Acid level of 10.0

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  nobody 7 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

Ryan D
    Participant
    Ŧallars: Ŧ 1.64

Hi. Hoping to get some answers.

I was just tested for Uric Acid after my foot/ankle has been hurting for a month when I walk.

The results came back 10.0 and my doctor prescribed 100mg of allopurinol.

I just have two questions:

1) Is 10.0 really that high that I need to take medicine (allopurinol)?

2) Another doctor friend told me to be careful because allopurinol will break down the crystals in my body and could form a kidney stone. Is this true???

3) How long will allopurinol take to lower my levels to normal?

Thank you.

nobody
    Participant
    Ŧallars: Ŧ 502.41

Hi!

1) I’m no doctor but 10.0 seems high enough to be dangerous. You might want to double-check that value with a second test before starting a daily medication though.
    Among things which can raise uric acid are: certain foods and alcohol (when consumed without moderation), strenuous exercise, certain drugs as well as certain serious diseases. So you want to make sure you aren’t taking a drug which increases uric acid (in that case, perhaps you could change that medication instead of adding yet another drug to your regimen). And if you have had old blood tests showing a much lower value for uric acid, you want to make sure you’ve been checked for the most common diseases which can increase uric acid.

2) Allopurinol could in principle lead to kidney stones for a different reason. But so far as I know, it’s on balance more likely to protect you from kidney stones in the long run. Breaking down the crystals might lead to an existing stone passing though. Anyway, that’s not a reason to avoid allopurinol.