Allopurinol 300 mg Image

Starting allopurinol amounts …scared. How much?

Stopping Gout Together Forums Help My Gout! The Gout Forum Starting allopurinol amounts …scared. How much?

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Alan Straub
      Participant

Hey, my doc really wants me to start allopurinol. I have been fighting taking this for 15 years…. so scared of this stat I read:

“SCARs include drug hypersensitivity syndrome (DHS), Stevens-Johnson syndrome (SJS), and toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN). The spectrum of DHS, SJS, and TEN in response to allopurinol is frequently referred to as allopurinol hypersensitivity syndrome (AHS) and is estimated to occur in 1 of 1,000 allopurinol users in the United States. AHS is associated with marked morbidity and a mortality rate of 20% to 25%.”

So does that mean I have a 1 in 4000 chance of dying with this med???? Seems really bad odds.

Anyways. My kidney function is perfect…I know that plays into side effects… My doc wants me to take 100mg for 2 wks then get all bloodwork done again then go up to 200mg then to 300mg and get blood work in 3 mos and see her at that time.

Do you all agree with my docs plan? Has anyone had a bad/near fatal reaction? What am I to look for as far as a bad reaction? I think I will blame every odd thing on the med.

thx for any advice and info.

nobody
      Participant

There is the matter of cost which might justify your doctor’s approach but, if that were financially realistic, I would recommend getting the second blood work on the drug sooner.
      First, you could otherwise potentially be exposed to quiet but dangerous dose-dependent side effects (impaired liver function for instance) for 3-4 months.