5:2 Diet - Intermittent Fasting for Gout

Intermittent fasting has cured my gout

Stopping Gout Together Forums Help My Gout! The Gout Forum Intermittent fasting has cured my gout

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      chris morkides
      Participant

Yeah, I know. The word ‘fasting’ is scary. But I’ve done Intermittent Fasting for six months, it hasn’t been difficult and I’ve been gout-free since early January (an eternity for me) after 24 years battling a disease that was taking control of my life. My uric acid level is normal, my blood pressure finally is normal and, not that I did this to lose weight, I’ve dropped 30 pounds.

I won’t go into the science about intermittent fasting because I am not a scientist. And it’s too complicated for a post like this. In short, IF means not eating for, ideally, 16 or more hours between meals. You can drink water while fasting or, if you’re like me, drink black coffee or tea while fasting. I eat one meal a day two — sometimes three — days a week. My wife, who started IF before me to lose weight, does it every day and has lost over 60 pounds. For more info, I recommend the YouTube videos “Eat, Fast and Live Longer” and “5:2 Diet.” Both feature Dr. Michael Mosley. Both are BBC productions.

Now, my story. I’m 61 and suffered my first attack of gout when I was 37. I’ve taken probenecid, uloric and allopurinol at various times. All had bad side effects. I’ve gone the black cherry extract/apple cider vinegar/name-your-natural-healing-method-route and none have worked for me. If they work for you, great. I’m just telling my story. Before intermittent fasting, the gout had gotten so bad that I was hobbling around for, I’m guessing, four months a year. When I wasn’t hobbling, I was avoiding things — walking too far, drinking a glass of wine — that could possibly trigger gout. I had to take a month off from work earlier this year to deal with my gout and high blood pressure.