Gout with "sausage-finger" photos

Sausage fingers and gout medicine reactions

Stopping Gout Together Forums Help My Gout! The Gout Forum Sausage fingers and gout medicine reactions

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Kev Avery
      Participant

Hi Keith.

I had a first gout attack in December 2016 in my ankle which led to an arthroscopy and crutch use. Since then have been on a course of probenecid as I had a quick allergic reaction to allopurinol. My uric acid levels never went below 6 on this medicine.

My doctor in Indonesia (I am an English teacher from UK) said febuxostat was available and advised swapping over. I tried 80mg a day and after 4 days had an allergic reaction again. I had to take antihistamine and then go back onto probenecid.

I have had swollen fingers when I wake up for a few months. (These disappear after a while), have had arthritis tests but show up negative. The doctor thinks the sausage fingers are caused by uric acid in fingers but I am dubious about that.

My doctor recommends going back onto febuxostat when things stabilise. But 40 mg a day.

My questions to you are. Is it a good idea to try febuxostat again on a lower dose? Also, how can I get the uric acid levels below 5? Do you think the stuff morning fingers are caused by uric acid? Is it possible to take a small dose of febuxostat and a small dose of probenecid together?

I really appreciate any advice. I am an under excreted according to the tests. Am on a pretty healthy vegetarian diet.

Am worried that the doctors are not doing things well given the numbers over 6 and the stiff fingers.

Best wishes

Kevin

GoutPal HelpDesk
      Participant

Thanks for posting about your gout Kev. But you included your email address in your post. So I removed it. Because it encourages spammers to contact you.